Incarnations of Lord Vishnu..! (Dasavatara)

Dasavatara of Lord Vishnu..!!

I drew this painting, taking inspiration from a similar one i found on sometime back.

Dr. Devdutt Pattnaik, one of India’s most popular mythologists, wrote about the Avatars of Vishnu in his “Myth=Mithya: A Handbook of Hindu Mythology,rightly said : “Every time dharma is threatened Vishnu mounts his eagle, the mighty Garuda, and comes to earth ready to do battle. The descents of Vishnu from Vaikuntha to earth are his avatars or incarnations. The form in each descent is different because the demands of the world each time are different. The different avatars thus reinforce the idea that rules and regulations that maintain order are not static by nature. They are forged when the demands of desire clash with the quest for order. As man’s understanding of the world changes, desires change and so do concepts of order. Rules have to therefore constantly adapt themselves. Social stability must not be compromised, yet new ideas must be respected. Vishnu’s descents are not just about reestablishing order. It is also about redefining them.”

Change is Constant even for God..!

The 10 Avatars of Vishnu are:

  1. Matsya (the fish)
  2. Koorma (the tortoise)
  3. Varaha (the boar)
  4. Narasimha (the human-lion)
  5. Vamana (the dwarf)
  6. Parasurama (the angry man, Rama with an axe)
  7. Lord Rama (the perfect man, king of Ayodha)
  8. Lord Krishna (the divine statesman)
  9. Bala Rama (elder brother of Krishna)
  10. Kalki (the mighty warrior)rrior)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s